Board of County Commissioners

Richmond County, North Carolina

Regular Meetings

  • 5:30 p.m.
  • The first Tuesday of every month except when it falls on a Tuesday after a Richmond County observed Monday holiday. (ex. Labor Day)
  • Richmond County Judicial Center
    105 W Franklin Street, Courtroom C
    Rockingham, NC 28379

Meetings are open to the public.


·         Tuesday, January 10th

·         Tuesday, July 11th

·         Tuesday, February 7th

·         Tuesday, August 1st

·         Tuesday, March 7th

·         Tuesday, September 12th

·         Monday, April 3rd

·         Tuesday, October 3rd

·         Tuesday, May 2nd

·         Tuesday, November 7th

·         Tuesday, June 6th

·         Tuesday, December 5th


Board Information

The Richmond County Board of Commissioners is a 7-member board elected to serve 4-year terms. The Commissioners are all elected at-large rather than by district, and the terms of office are staggered so that 4 members are elected during an even-numbered election year, and then 3 members are elected two years later on the next even-numbered election year.

Commissioners take an oath of office on the first Monday of December following the November in which they were elected. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Board of Commissioners are elected by the 7 board members during the organizational meeting held on the first Tuesday in December of each odd-numbered year. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Board are elected by the board during the organizational meeting held on the first Monday in December in each even-numbered year.

Click here for the most Recent Agenda and Minutes

Contact Us

  1. Dena R. Cook, NCCCC

    Clerk to the Board of County Commissioners
    1401 Fayetteville Rd
    PO Box 504
    Rockingham, NC  28380
    (910)417-4916 office